Schools in the Edmund Rice Tradition

There are five schools in New Zealand that draw on the foundations of a Nga Parata Karaitiana (Christian Brother) heritage and celebrate the Edmund Rice inspiration today.

St Peter’s College    Auckland (boys  Year 7 – 13) 
Liston College     Auckland (boys  Year 7 – 13)
St Thomas of Canterbury College    Christchurch (boys  Year 7 – 13)
St Kevin’s College     Oamaru  (co-ed/boarding   Year 9 – 13)
Trinity Catholic College    Dunedin (co-ed  Year 7 – 13)

Nga Parata Karaitiana (The Christian Brothers) arrived in Dunedin from Australia in 1876 and opened their first school on the Trinity Catholic College site. Other schools that they were associated with were: Christian Brothers Junior School Dunedin, St Edmund School South Dunedin, St Patrick’s School Oamaru, Edmund Rice College Rotorua (now John Paul College) and Nukutere College Rarotonga. The school on the Kavanagh site were Christian Brothers and then St Paul’s High School.